Review/Erudite Stoner/Self-titled

Regular visitors of this blog will be in for a different kind of treat this time, let that be known from the start. Matheus Novaes is the twentysix year old Brazilian guitarist working under the alias Erudite Stoner, and the following words will be all about the self-titled debut from december 2015.

I spend a lot of my time listening to demos and new releases. Much of it is, genre wise, very much up the same alley, and sometimes I have to give my ears a break, and freshen up before getting on with review and other writings. The last days of mind-clearing has been taken care off, by everything from Twisted Sister and Gary Moore to Queen – and this..

Wanting to become a guitarist myself when I was younger, I’ve definitely wasted my fair share of time, listening to guitarist-driven instrumental albums, by the likes of Steve Vai, Joe Satriani and Van Halen. So what is one to do, when you receive a message on facebook; getting asked to take a listen to yet another one..?

To be honest, I didn’t really know what to expect. The unusual, but very nice, cover artwork is created by  Nando Freitas; Depicting a backpack wearing man looking out on the world before him. Standing next to an umbrella holding Lego man-like looking robot – it doesn’t give away to much info on what to expect music wise.

I’ve seen this album tagged as “doom”, “shoegaze” and “metal” on Bandcamp – and while this music is able to create emotions quite similar to the above mentioned genres. I would  prefer to describe it as “instrumental acoustic post rock” myself.

Matheus let his guitar to do the talking on the entire album; no bass, drums or vocals – leaving the acoustic guitar as his only voice to the world. Despite the obvious fact that Matheus  is a skilled guitarist, this doesn’t turn out to be a musicians only album. The excellent compositions are in the spotlight, and are far more than just short showcases of his talent on the six string.

In truth it would be unfair to single out any of the songs for special attention, as the album works beautifully as a whole; shifting moods smoothly between the dark intensely rousing  and the silently introvert.Should I choose to do so anyway, it  would be tough to leave out “Waiting for the storm” – the only track to feature some mildly distorted tone to build tension towards the end. Another one worth mentioning would be “Far away from the city walls” that takes my mind on a trip to a Brazilian beach, far away from Denmark where I live myself.

If you aren’t afraid to drop the barricades, and has got an open mind, you should definitely do yourself the big favor, and check out this album. It’s something else – and it’s absolutely brilliant in my honest opinion.

Don’t want to miss a beat? – then go ahead and  “Like” the PLBM Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

